To Dash or To Splash?

August 18, 2010

For the heck of it, I took this photo:

Nothing special, right? Well, I decoded to use the free Dash of Color app from the iPhone app store to touch it up and make it a bit more special:

Nice dash of color, eh? Unfortunately, I had a difficult time staying within the lines – I felt like my four-year-old daughter! I couldn’t pan or zoom for more fine editing. And when I saved the finished picture, the quality noticeably depreciated – the previous, ah, masterpiece was now an unappealing blur.  Plus, it’s a lot smaller. I couldn’t tell if the female pedestrian on the right was coming or going.

So I shelled out two smackeroos for the ColorSplash app. After viewing the several built-in introductionary (is that a word?) videos via the app, I was able to quickly zoom in and color (easily within the lines!) to get this:

ColorSplash’s picture is obviously a LOT better in quality. Details aren’t blurred like in Dash of Color’s picture. And I was able to do the coloring a lot quicker in ColorSplash – well, once I viewed the videos from within the app.

My advice? Shell out the two dollars and get ColorSplash.

Side note: there’s a beautiful finger in ColorSplash’s tutorial videos. My nail-bitten, cuticle-mauled finger could never be in a tutorial video.

One Response to “To Dash or To Splash?”

  1. verbatimit Says:

    I visited. I read. I write.

    Thanks for the spot of color note. So the program strips color then you can add it back.

    Full stop. New subject.

    Do you do captions for your videos?

    Alan


Leave a comment