iOS 5: We still need @me.com?!

October 12, 2011

I thought we were finished with the @me.com nonsense! Apparently not. This is the error message I got when trying to click on the Mail icon in iCloud (and also when trying to turn on Mail via the iCloud setting on my iPhone that had iOS 5 Gold Master pre-installed last weekend):

@me.com Address Needed
To use iCloud Mail, create an
@me.com email address by
turning on Mail in your iCloud
settings using iOS or OS X.

iCloud.com still needs @me.com to use Mail

2 Responses to “iOS 5: We still need @me.com?!”

  1. James Says:

    I’m wondering if you resolved this. I thought I would be able to just use my normal email address as my iCloud and iTunes login. But it seems I still need the @me.com as my apple id to properly take advantage of icloud. And it seems I need an iCloud mailbox in my desktop and iPhone mail. Did you figure out if you could get rid of @me.com altogether?

    • proudgeek Says:

      I wish I could answer this with confidence. I believe you’re stuck with the me.com address as your apple ID, even as the me.com service is being changed or phased out. Perhaps Apple will at some point give me.com users an easy way to transition their Apple IDs to a new one?


Leave a Reply

