The Palm Pre: A Deaf Geek Wishlist

January 19, 2009

The Palm just announced its next big thing, and it’s a BIG THING:

The Palm Pre.  (Not to be confused with the Palm Treo Pro.)

It has almost everything I want, and more:

  • Large 3.1 inch touchscreen — 320×480 resolution HVGA display
  • Slide-out physical QWERTY keyboard (and if you complain about old Sidekick-like sliding keyboards, wait till you SEE this!)
  • GPS
  • WiFi
  • EVDO via the Sprint network
  • Integrated IM, SMS, and email
  • 3 megapixel camera with flash
  • Three sensors: ambient light, accelerometer, and proximity
  • 8gig storage (but no SD card slot)
  • Wireless charging dock (yes, I said wireless)
  • … and it feels like a smooth pebble in your hand …

I’ve looked at the iPhone and found it wanting for several reasons.   I’ve been waiting with bated breath for an Android smartphone running on the Verizon or Sprint network that looks and acts better than Tmobile’s new “brick.”  

But the Palm Pre might win my heart quicker than a beautiful Android phone.  Since the Sprint Palm Pre is coming out the first half of 2009, and since rumors have it that a Sprint Android phone will come out around the same time, it may be a true race to see which one I pick.

There are some things I really like about my trusty (but becoming ancient) Palm Treo 755p that I hope will carry over into the Palm Pre.  Let’s call it a Deaf Geek Wishlist:

  • Chatteremail was hands down the best email program I’ve ever used.  It was ultimately bought by Palm.  Will it be used as the default email program in the new Pre?  I hope so.
  • I loved the Palm’s LED notification that lights up (or blinks, depending on how you set it) if you’ve got new email.  Will the Pre have this too?
  • Via Chatteremail, I could set the Palm Treo 755p to vibrate up to 9 times for a new email.  I could even set it to vibrate 5 times for email from my partner and 3 times for anybody else’s.  The iPhone and the Android G1 only vibrates one time for new email etc.  Will the Pre be able to vibrate multiple times (ok, I know this isn’t sounding right, but stay with me please), and can this be customizable?
  • I must have an IMAP connection that works in the background while the smartphone’s screen is off.  Yes, like Chatteremail (again, that program!) does.  Emails must be fetched from my IMAP account (like Gmail) nearly as quickly as they arrive — and not 5 or 10 or 15 minutes later via polling.  And this must be done without having to set up or sign up for an Exchange server.  If this cannot be done on the Pre, then the deal’s off and I’m running off with an Android phone.
  • Will the Pre have videocamera capability?  I hope so.  I like recording quick video messages and sending them to my love and our children.  I just wish there was a videocamera on front of the Pre as well so I can have a videophone conversation.  Ah well, can’t have everything!

7 Responses to “The Palm Pre: A Deaf Geek Wishlist”

  1. -ck Says:

    I, too, am waiting for the Pre! I’m thinking of either a Pre, an Android, or either BB Bold or Storm. My contract expires this month and I’m tired of spending so much money on my ATT account, so I’m leaning towards Sprint or Verizon and will wait until the Pre comes out.

    We’ll compare our observations :-)


  2. I’m waiting too, I am currently with Verizon, but I may dumped them when my contract expires sometime this year.

  3. humblebee Says:

    palm pre, the next iphone killer .. :D

  4. iballoon Says:

    It’s frickin weak.. i’m talk about the vibrate. It vibrate once, not very strong as treo lineup.

    Yeah, I have one with me ha. Unfortunately, I’m not able to activate it with Sprint Relay until it’s okay to, by the reps sales. Bah.

  5. Proud Geek Says:

    I have one too (and am using it right now to type this comment). I reall, really like it a lot. But I’m with you on the wimpy vibrate. Wben you configure sounds and alerts prefs to vibrate, it gives three strong vibrates to acknowledge the change only – so I’m hoping this vibrate thing will be more configurable for email alerts. No lights either, but the programming codes do allow one to program the gesture lights – so I’m hoping that’ll be an option in the near future as well.

  6. Bill Says:

    Thanks for you interesting posts.
    May I ask how you changed the number of vibrations Chattermail uses to notify you of email?

  7. proudgeek Says:

    Hi Bill – Chatteremail has multiple vibrations as part of its own option settings. Check it out. I can’t remember where / what the specific settings are since it’s been a while.


Leave a Reply

