GMail adds Video Chat!

November 12, 2008

In an attempt to further cement my enduring love for Gmail (Google Mail), video chat has been added!

As a deaf person and a Google lover, this is the perfect confluence of all things Google-goodness.  I can’t emphasize how thrilled I am with this new development.

(No, that’s not me in the picture above.  That’s a Google employee demo’ing the video.  Grin.)

The Official Google Blog has more details.  In a nutshell:

Just click on the new “Video & more” menu in a Gmail chat window and select “Start video chat” or “Start voice chat.” You can switch to a full screen view or pop out the chat window and change the size and positioning as you wish.

Gmail voice and video chat will be rolled out globally over the next day or so for Macs and PCs. The first time you use this feature, you’ll be prompted to download and install a small plugin. To get started, visit http://www.gmail.com/videochat or click on the “Options” menu in a Gmail chat window and choose “Add voice/video chat.” Find out more on our Gmail Blog.

Of course, you’ll need a webcam (and a good friend) to use this functionality.

My, today is a wonderful day, isn’t it?  :-)

(I just realized I’ve been blogging about Google several times in a row.  I think I need medication to stop my Google OCD-ness …)

4 Responses to “GMail adds Video Chat!”

  1. tayler Says:

    Saw this on TechCrunch yesterday. Told my wife about it promptly but didn’t get around to trying it out until this morning. I think the biggest thing here is cross-compatibility between Macs and PCs. Also rather than run a separate video conferencing application such as Oovoo, we can use what’s always open – web browser with Gmail loaded.

    The video quality is truly impressive.

    I’m known to say “ASL later” occasionally when we are instant messaging. With video chat, I can say “ASL now” :)

    Why not write something about CNN’s hologram? We’re closer to having holograms in our homes. Wouldn’t this be great for deaf folk?

  2. proudgeek Says:

    I was tempted to write about CNN’s hologram (which made my mouth drop open from awe) — but then I found out that Wolf (who stood in front of the hologram) couldn’t actually see the hologram. It was only on television. Durn.

  3. tayler Says:

    On the bright side, we’re getting closer! :)


  4. Another step towards GGD (Google Global Domination)


Leave a Reply

