I Want the G1 Running on the Android Platform

October 6, 2008

The more I read about and see T-Mobile’s G1 smartphone running on Google’s new Android platform, the more I want it.

It looks smooth. It looks slick. It looks uber-cool. It has most of the programs I already use on my Palm Treo 755p. It has a physical keyboard. It has a touch-screen and wifi as well as high-speed wireless connection. It has a 3 megapixel camera (but I don’t think it captures video). The maps app lets you see street-view, and I believe has GPS as well.

A cool emulator shows what using it would be like. Be sure to click the “360 View,” “Guide” and “Emulator” buttons on the right side. On the emulator, you can slide the background (the “blue pond” in the emulator) left or right to see more. Be sure to slide out the arrow on the right side of the “blue pond” for additional options, then scroll the icon menu up.

Gmail (which I use on the computer and also on my Treo via IMAP) looks easy to use and has just about all the features of the website. I wonder if this allows for logging in from my “Google Apps for my Domain” account which I use with my own domain URL address.

The instant messaging app allows you to log into Gtalk, AIM, Yahoo, and MSN Messenger. Nice! I’m pretty sure it can work in the background — that is, you can do other things and then get notification of new messages. I also wonder if this works with my Google Apps account as well.

If you’re a true geek like me, check out the “settings” on that right-arrow menu to see settings for wifi, calls, sounds and display, data sync, etc. I wonder if it can be set to vibrate several times and for different notifications. One of the most annoying flaws of the iPhone is the fact that it vibrates only once.

The biggest downside for me? It’s T-Mobile, using a similar slide-out as the Sidekick. I’m gonna wait and see if Verizon comes out with a smartphone (and one that doesn’t slide out) using the Android platform. I just hope it’s sometime soon — Verizon is (in-)famous for NOT being an early adopter of new types of smartphones. On the other hand, I’m surprised that Verizon will be the first network to release the new Palm Treo Pro.

The T-Mobile G1 will be selling later this month for $179, and you can pre-order yours via the Tmobile website.

3 Responses to “I Want the G1 Running on the Android Platform”

  1. Eugene Says:

    Now everyone is talking about the American economy and eclections, nice to read something different. Eugene


  2. […] already blogged some preliminary thoughts about the Tmobile G1, the first Android phone.  I want it so bad that it aches!  However, I […]

  3. Vadim Says:

    I found out that you have to use G1 plan to use G1 device. The minimum is the required voice plan ($29.95) plus the data plan ($39.95). I spoke with T-Mobile and asked why they do not offer only data plan for the deaf people who want to use G1, and they said they do not offer that yet now. I am not ready to pay approximately 70 dollars plus tax and fees for that plan… That’s too bad.


Leave a Reply

