Google Maps Now Lists Businesses At Address

October 1, 2008

While looking up an address on Google Maps, I noticed that Google now displays a list of businesses at that address in the left column.

(Click on picture for a larger version)

Very, very, VERY useful feature.  I can’t tell you how many YEARS I’ve wished Google Maps would add this feature.  Yahoo Maps had a similar feature for quite a while, but it was difficult to use.

Also, I’m not sure if it’s something that’s now available to everyone, is being rolled out gradually to groups of people, or if Google’s testing this out to a select group of people.

3 Responses to “Google Maps Now Lists Businesses At Address”

  1. Vadim Milman Says:

    I was able to use this feature in a different way. Whenever I google-mapped my desired location, I click on “Search Nearby”.

  2. proudgeek Says:

    Hmf, wish I had your smarts.

  3. Jaz Says:

    Web 2.0 technology is cool — this one is called Mashup, showing numerous types of information (sources) based on one location, such as buildings nearby, like your article. Perhaps, they could add information about distance between nearby businesses, operation hours, or prices of food (if applicable). :)


Leave a Reply

