Starbucks Goes for Sweet and Salty

September 30, 2008

Starbucks has brought back a “signature” chocolate drink.  But instead of the decadent Chantico that it stopped selling in 2006, Starbucks is rolling out a hot chocolate drink that’s made from four different cocoa berries and is more “chocolate” than “milk.”  One variety comes with French sea salt, blended with Hawaiian Turbinado sugar, sprinkled on top of whipped cream.  Sounds intriguing.  It is being released today, so let me know if you’ve got a chance to try this out!

Starbucks has also begun to sell several new breakfast food.  I had the oatmeal with three different topping choices (almonds, dried fruit, and brown sugar) last week and loved it.  In fact, the oatmeal is surprisingly Starbucks’s most successful food release to date.  

Starbucks also released the Piadini today – a square pastry sandwich with folded corners that come in two flavors: spinach with portabello mushrooms and ricotta cheese, or sausage, egg, and cheese.  I had the spinach Piadini this morning.  My honeybear and I actually shared one, and I’m glad we did because it’s yummy if a bit rich.

I already blogged about the Vivanno smoothie drinks.  YUCK.  I’d much druther a Peanut Power smoothie from Smoothie King.

2 Responses to “Starbucks Goes for Sweet and Salty”

  1. Rob Says:

    I’m a big fan of the Chantico. Hot chocolate with sea salt. Decadent!

  2. proudgeek Says:

    It *IS* decadent. And I love it. :-)


Leave a Reply

