Starbucks Releases List of All 600 Store Closures

July 18, 2008

Starbucks has finally released a list of all 600 store closures (PDF document).

One store in my old neighborhood in Germantown is on this list — which doesn’t surprise me because apparently this list targets recently-opened stores that aren’t doing too well. We moved away at the right time, whew! Yet, another one even closer to our old home and which had opened even more recently didn’t make this list. What does relieve me is that none of the seven Starbucks in or near Frederick, Maryland, my new home town, is on this list. A new one opened in historic downtown Frederick last year, and I’m pleasantly surprised that that one isn’t on the closure list.

Lots of California stores are on this closure list, but surprisingly not that many in Los Angeles nor San Francisco and probably too many closures in San Diego. Too many in Mobile, Alabama. Lots throughout Florida but only one in Miami itself. Three in Davenport, Iowa. Five in Chicago, Charlotte, and St. Louis. Seven in Indianapolis, eight in Houston, and a whopping NINE in little Baton Rouge and larger Dallas. Yeowch, SIXTEEN stores closing in Las Vegas and North Las Vegas, not including any other suburbs in that area. A mild five store closures in New York City, but a comparatively biting four closures in Oklahoma City. Even Seattle doesn’t avoid an appearance on this list with seven closures (not counting its suburbs).

What do you think, and is your neighborhood / town affected?

(EDIT: The District of Columbia gets off relatively unscathed with just one closure at 21st and L.  A number of stores are being closed in its suburbs, though.  The Washington Post even did an article on these local closures.)

7 Responses to “Starbucks Releases List of All 600 Store Closures”


  1. […] 7/18/2008: Here’s my post about the complete list of 600 Starbucks closures.) Possibly related posts: (automatically […]


  2. […] 8, 2008 (EDIT 7/18/08: Starbucks has released the complete list of 600 store […]

  3. Patty Says:

    I’m not attached to any of the Starbucks where I live, thank goodness. I use the little neighborhood coffee place that makes the best lattes ever and it’s been in business for 45 years.

  4. Jenny Says:

    I know this is not a popular sentiment, but I’m gonna say it anyway – I’m glad. I was actually disappointed that the 3 in my hometown are staying. I’ve felt for a long time that Starbucks is a monopoly, pushing independents and smaller chains out of business. I also have trouble understanding this worshipful devotion people have for $tarmoola, as I call it. Don’t take this personally – it’s just an alternative perspective of the chain and its closures. *smile*

  5. proudgeek Says:

    Totally understandable, Jenny! Lots of people aren’t happy that a Starbucks opened in historical downtown Frederick with its oodles of coffeehouses. I’m split – I love the local businesses, yet I love the anticipation of fraps in each Starbucks store.

  6. WAD Says:

    Interesting, there’s 14 Starbucks in Rochester, NY and none of them is on the list. It’s a good sign. If anyone’s in this area, I’d recommend the 12 Corners – my favorite. Thanks for sharing the list.


  7. […] Starbucks closing 300 more stores, on top of the 600 stores it already has closed?   Something is terribly, terribly wrong. […]


Leave a Reply

