Flameless Candles No Longer For Couple With Kids!

June 4, 2008

Last December, I enthusiastically blogged about Wisp Flameless Candles by Glade. At that time I said it was wonderful how we could have something that looked and smelled like candles, and yet was safe to have around kids.

No Wisp Flameless CandlesWell, no longer. I can no longer recommend Wisp Flameless Candles.

Why?

Ah, the glass containers break much too easily. They shatter into huge shards, and when they shatter, they don’t just shatter. They jump all over the place!  I dropped one a month or two ago, and it shattered on the tile floor so explosively that a shard jumped up higher than me and then hit my head.  I’m bald, and thank goodness the shard must’ve hit me on its dull side. And last night, I cut my finger while cleaning up glass shards from another one that my daughters broke.

I can only imagine what would’ve happened had one of my young daughters tried to clean up.

So, I can no longer recommend those flameless candles.

Just be careful when you dispose of yours. And leave a comment if you know of a safer flameless candle.

7 Responses to “Flameless Candles No Longer For Couple With Kids!”

  1. ocdac Says:

    Theres plastic containers to put the candles in. They were offered at the dollar store.

  2. proudgeek Says:

    Good suggestion, ocdac – I didn’t think of taking out the flameless unit itself and putting it into another container.

  3. Erin Says:

    For Every Body makes a wickless, waxless candle look-alike called Minus Wicks. It’s water based so you can use it on a candle warmer or just leave it in the open air. It’s organic too. I think there are 8 fragrances at http://www.foreverybody.com.

  4. deafbipolar Says:

    I love them but like you it’s dangerous when u drop it. Ive got pets, and I’ll be damn if they get cut and infected by these shards. I tend to remove the units, throw out the glass bowl and just use the units. You can put it in out of the way places and it will still help smell up the room.

    Maybe one day they’ll just sell the unit not the stupid glass bowl

  5. Desiree Says:

    My friend sells Scentsy products. AWESOME stuff!

    Wickless/flameless candles don’t compare. These are wax but they never get hotter than body temp – no burns! Plus there is a wide variety of styles, colors, and scents.
    I love mine.

    Check it out at: http://www.scentsy.com/tracis

  6. jeanne mollie Says:

    You could get real good flameless candles without the glass bowl from this store http://www.justhomedecor.com/estoreusa/home.php?cat=668 Their products have good quality, natural scent and real flicker. The store has a free shipping discount now.

  7. Harris Says:

    Have you checked out Candle Impressions flameless candles (www.candleimpressions.net)? They are made with real wax, are scented, and flicker… so they look and smell like a real candle. And they’re battery battery powered so they are safe and you can put them virtually anywhere. They have them at Bed, Bath & Beyond as well as at gift/decor stores. I think they also sell them on QVC. Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

