VPAD Update: It’s $99 This Saturday ONLY, and …

April 10, 2008

A follow-up to my post earlier this morning about the VPADs going on sale for $99 this Saturday.  Viable says this $99 discount (down from $699) is ONLY available for the Pomona, CA DeafNation Expo at this time.  Pricing is subject to change for future Expos.  And remember, this discount is limited to one per customer.

And … it’s first-come, first-serve.  If (when?) they sell out, then that’s it.  No further orders will be taken, and you’ll have to wait till the next Expo to buy these VPADs or when Viable’s on-line order form for VPADs is ready.  Even so, no guarantees that it’d still be $99 per VPAD.  No word yet on how many VPADs Viable plans to stock at this Saturday’s Expo.

So, better go to the Pomona DeafNation expo bright and early Saturday morning!  It opens at 9am.

On a side note: we need to make up a sign for the VPAD.  Maybe something like “verify” (backward V tapping on your palm), but with the V-hand reversed so that the “V” is hand-down and tapping your palm?

27 Responses to “VPAD Update: It’s $99 This Saturday ONLY, and …”


  1. […] April 10, 2008 (EDIT 10:30am: Some more information from Viable — see new blog post.) […]

  2. Wait for MVP Says:

    Don’t waste $99 on the VPAD. Use it toward your credit card debt, groceries, the mortgage, etc. Wait for the MVP from http://www.hovrs.com – its free and 10x better than the VPAD.

  3. BobbyK. Says:

    I rather to buy VPAD on Saturday than waiting for HOVRS since they never announced when they will release MVP. I rather to have a VPAD than sitting and waiting on HOVRS. Forget HOVRS, I am going there and get my VPAD! I sure hope I will get a chance to get a VPAD. Wish me luck.

  4. J.J. Puorro Says:

    Interesting marketing strategy…gives us two choices:

    1.) Pay $99 now and have a VPAD.

    OR

    2.) Wait forever for a MVP. (Even if the MVP is released soon, there will probably be a wait list)

    Hmmmmm….

  5. Biilly Says:

    I must warn that VPAD is low grade. MVP is much better..

  6. jj Says:

    If you want to pay now, so go for it.. but you will be very unhappy with it since you will be required to pay extra for wireless, etc etc.

    For those people who will go ahead buying ’em, good luck! Don’t come to me crying that you are imposed.

  7. BobbyK. Says:

    If HOVRS hasnt announced yet, how do you know that MVP is much better than VPAD? I guess you are going with a rumor river. I rather to buy a VPAD on Saturday. I am looking forward to buy a VPAD. IPhone even got bugs in it, many people still love it. I wont cry since this is a democracy country, we can buy anything we want. Most important is I will get the better deal, $99 dollars! Not $699!

  8. DeafTexan Says:

    This $99 VPAD is really a stationary videophone with an AC power adapter and Ethernet cable much like an OJO VP because there will be NO rechargeable battery build-in and optional wireless network module in the $99 VPAD device. You should think twice about it before you make a decision on whether or not you want to buy it for $99.

  9. mvp fan Says:

    I have tested VPAD and I also saw MVP but not yet test it. MVP is 100 times better than VPAD.. bottom line VPAD is a rip off!

    MVP will be F R E E and will be released in THE SUMMER and it is 100% wireless and battery operated unlike STINKING VPAD which is NOT EVEN wireless! and NOT EVEN battery operated.

    One other thing, those who buy VPAD is a sucker. YOUR better off getting a LAPTOP which is a true wireless and battery and can do multi things compared to limited purpose VPAD..

    I WILL WAIT FOR HOVRS MVP! ITS NOT THAT FAR AWAY. MAYBE JUNE OR JULY!

  10. HOVRS Says:

    All the MVP posts above are just posted by HOVRS employees. Pretty pathetic if you ask me.

  11. VPRANK Says:

    This sat only ? I dont think so…. It can be at any Deaf Nation.

  12. BobbyK. Says:

    From Viable’s website, it showed they will attend four expo shows. My guess is they will sell vpads all four shows.

  13. Anonymous Says:

    mvp fan wrote, “I have tested VPAD and I also saw MVP but not yet test it. MVP is 100 times better than VPAD.. bottom line VPAD is a rip off!”

    You haven’t tested it so how can you possibly determine MVP is better than VPAD? And how can you determine it is 100 times better? Why not 99 or 101 times better?

    Ugh. You’re an embarrassment to the Deaf, deaf, Hard-of-Hearing, hard of hearing, Hearing Impaired, hearing impaired, communities.

  14. anonymous Says:

    Rip off? Very interested. In my experience as an installer, I have attended different VRS user’s houses and asked to buy the vp device for their family to communicate with(point to point). Well the companies like vrs companies does not allow to have hearing people to have the vp device. They were upset and really want to buy few devices for their family. The VRS companies firmly said no. That is the reason why Viable is selling VPAD so deaf person’s hearing family is able to have one. Hey…you will learn a lot about the idea in Viable’s marketing and business. give a chance and find how cool the VP device.

    one more thing… In US, all of companies are ALWAYS a part of competitions, Okay?

  15. Bobby Says:

    Have any of you received a call from HOVRS about the MVP? I got one yesterday and I taped it. Here’s the link… I am curious if this is happening to others.

  16. DeafTexan Says:

    I just finished watching the YouTube video about “DID YOU KNOW THAT HOVRS CALL PEOPLE AND SHOW MVP?” It showed that it is a real ^cordless” MPV videophone because it has a rechargeable battery build-in and wireless network module inside of this MVP videophone. It allows us to carry it around anywhere.

  17. Bobby Says:

    Buy VPAD for your family members! Then get MVP for yourself!

    Simple…


  18. I WANT ORDER $99.00 PLUS 400.00 4 VPAD FOR ME . 2 SONS AND DAUGHTER .. PLEASE CALL ME VP or ojo 425-239-0504 OR E-MAIL ME born_deaf@hotmnail.com WHERE I GET ORDER OR GO DEAFNATIONAL WHERE AT WE LIVE IN SEATTLE WA THANK SANDRA

  19. RAYMONDF STINE Says:

    I WANT TO GET NEW MVP SOON. YOU CAN SEND ME E MAIL ABOUT MVP PICTURE AND MANUAL AND CARRYING CASE

  20. Harriet Says:

    hello I want to get 2 of wireless videophone but how much cost for 2 of these? do can pay to use credit charge? let me know thank u have anice day!! u can call me vp 585 257 5003 or email oh do will sell at deaf expo in Rochester ,ny in Novemeber 8 2008?

  21. MM Says:

    I am interest to get MVP like VPAD but i dont know where I get it or order it so Can u help me to find it for me thank you MM

  22. proudgeek Says:

    The MVP will be coming out in several months. Hang on, be patient, sit tight — I’m as anxious to get one too as you are! :-)

  23. proudgeek Says:

    P.S. Due to high demand, it may be best to go ahead and sign up on HOVRS.com and get your own account, and then become “Purple.” That way, you will get notification when the MVP’s go out, and you may be able to get a MVP a bit more quicker.

  24. MysticOrchid Says:

    About the MVP as friend told me the fast way to get it is if you invite your friends to sign up for MVP and then the more you invite and the closer you’ll get to move ahead of line. I’m sure some of you know about that and if not, then several people who knows about that. There are 5 basic steps to follow and you’ll move closer, closer and closer to get to front of line to receive your MVP.

  25. ernesto Says:

    como marcar numero ip vpad en mexico ? atte neto

  26. DAVID FRANK Says:

    I AGREE WITH THE PERSON THAT WE SHOULD BE BETTER OFF WITH LAPTOPS WITH WIRELESS BUILDIN. I TAKE MY TWO LAPTOPS WITH VERIZON EXPRESS CARD EVERYWHERE. I GO TO ANY COFFEE CAFE, I USE WIRELESS BUILDIN FOR FREE ACCESS TO ANY WEBSITES BUT I AM AT HOME AND HAVE TO USE VERIZON EXPRESS CARD.
    LAPTOPS HAVE EXCELLENT FEATURES FOR US TO DO EMAIL AND CHAT WITH DEAF AND HEARING PERSONS. HEARING PEOPLE LOVE TO EMAIL DEAFIES FOR BUSINESS.
    I AM A STOCK INVESTOR WHO NEEDS A GOOD LAPTOP TO KEEP AN EYE ON STOCK MARKET. MVP OR VPAD IS TOO SMALL TO READ STOCK INFORMATION.
    I PREDICT THAT PRICE OF LAPTOPS WILL GO DOWN AND DOWN.
    HOVRS AND VIABLE VISION COMPANY SHOULD MAKE SMALL LAPTOPS AND THEY WILL SELL THEM FOR CHEAP. MVP AND VPAD ARE NOT WORTH AT ALL BECAUSE A SCREEN NEEDS A GOOD COVER TO PROTECT IT FROM SCRATCH. THAT IS WHY I HAVE TWO APLLE AND HP LAPTOPS 17 INCHES. I HAVE TO LEARN MAC AND PC SYSTEMS. APPLE LAPTOP IS THE BEST BUT IT IS VERY EXPENSIVE WHY IT WILL LAST LONGER FOR MANY YEARS. PC LAPTOP IS EXCELLENT FOR UPGRADE AND PART MODIFICATIONS.


Leave a Reply

