Fool Me Once, Fool Me Twice

April 2, 2008

Hobbyist logoIt seemed too good to be true.

One of my favorite Treo applications developer, Hobbyist Software, announced two nights ago that he has developed Bar Booster, a new Treo application (still in beta) that would increase my signal strength by one or two bars – at the expense of a slightly increased battery drain.

Since I take a commuter train through farmland and then the subway through underground tunnels, the signal strength of my Verizon Palm Treo 755p can go from 4 to just one or none in a matter of seconds. I’d wished that I could boost my signal strength. And so, Bar Booster seemed to be a godsend!

So, yesterday, I installed Bar Booster. Just 11k, which I thought was very small — yet I knew also that this is typical of Hobbyist Software’s other applications – they all have small “footprints” as well.

Maybe it was my imagination, but I could see a slightly better signal strength as my train choo-choo’ed across pastoral farmland. Emails continued to arrive, signal strength continued to fluctuate, I continued to browse the web. All was normal, yet I thought I saw a bit better signal strength.

When I changed trains and took the subway, I felt that signal strength was about the same as my train went thru the various underground tunnels. What a disappointment.

So, this morning, April 2nd, I got on the commuter train once again and opened Bar Booster to see if I could configure some settings. And what did I see but this message:

Ok folks, you probably guessed it. This was pure April Fool.

I hope you enjoyed it, you should probably disable it now!

Rob, the Hobbyist developer, certainly got me! Grumble grumble laugh. It certainly was too good to be true. Good one, Rob.

(I currently use several Hobbyist Software’s more legit offerings – Butler, Power Hero, Initiate, and Genius!, and have written about Genius! in the past.)

Leave a Reply

