But I didn’t register that email address with Facebook!

December 18, 2007

Facebook LogoAt around 3:30am this morning, I got two emails from Facebook asking me to confirm the registration of one of my email addresses which I rarely use. The two emails were identical (probably the result of multiple attempts), and says (with certain information omitted):

Hey [name – similar to mine but with the last several letters missing],

You recently registered for Facebook using this email address. To complete your registration, follow the link below:

[Link deleted]

(If clicking on the link doesn’t work, try copying and pasting it into your browser.)

If you did not register for Facebook, please disregard this message.
Check out http://www.facebook.com/help.php?page=49 if you have any questions.

Thanks,
The Facebook Team

But the thing is … I never tried to register that email address with Facebook. Obviously someone else tried to use my email address to add an account to Facebook. Thank goodness Facebook sends an email to that email address requiring the new member to confirm the registration via a link or else the new account will be deleted. Otherwise, I would have been the victim of fraud (or perhaps the victim of an honest mistake?).

Be careful when you get emails like this. And read them carefully — and don’t just blindly click on a link without understanding what may happen. If I had clicked on the link above (which I deleted), I would have allowed someone else to create an account using my email address.

In fact, there’s something you can do now to prevent others from trying to register with Facebook using your less-used email addresses. In Facebook, click on the “Edit Profile” link, then click on the “Contact” tab. You’ll see a list of your current email addresses registered with Facebook, with a link to “Add / Remove Emails.” Go ahead and add all of your email addresses, and check your inboxes for these email addresses to confirm the registration. And while you’re at it, don’t forget to adjust your privacy settings so that only your friends, or no one, can see these addresses.

Facebook Profile Page

9 Responses to “But I didn’t register that email address with Facebook!”

  1. seekgeo Says:

    Wow.. thanks for the info! I will edit when I get home tonight.

    -SG

  2. Bill Says:

    You may read the same feeds I do but….

    Did you see
    http://www.techcrunch.com/2007/12/17/facebook-is-myspace-with-add/

    I haven’t figure out if I can caption it yet, but you can probably get a lot out of the visuals….

    As she logs off, she says “there’s five hours I will never get back”

  3. proudgeek Says:

    Hi Bill! Cool video — wish Facebook could be as interactive as the video makes it out to be (although I could do without the vampire bite). Yes, I saw the same feed, but I didn’t watch the video until you mentioned this.

  4. Bill Says:

    I like the huge touch screen – I want one on my wall!

    You probably saw this from BetaNews too.
    http://www.betanews.com/article/Alltel_to_convert_voice_to_text_messages/1197916085

  5. proudgeek Says:

    Bill — no, I didn’t see that article, so thanks for linking to it. I noticed that Alltel would be working with Spinvox to convert voice messages to text messages. I previously blogged about Spinvox several times, including these ones:

    http://blog.proud-geek.com/2007/08/03/spinvox-skype-sms-voicemail/

    http://blog.proud-geek.com/2007/03/20/more-reading-your-voicemail/

  6. jr Says:

    I just got an email like this too, to my gmail account. My gmail address is my name with a period between first and last names, but I get email to my name without the period as well. I receive email (not spam) a few times a year from people who seem to think I am someone else, someone who is giving out that address without the period. Anyway, I wish I’d found your entry before I clicked the link. I verified the header before clicking, but I skipped over filling out any info on Facebook. I did reset the password though, so whoever signed up will not be able to log in again; and if they try to reset it, I will receive the email.

  7. Bob29 Says:

    According to the Post: He made it clear that he liked having city CEOs in charge of education decision-making and accountable for results. ,

  8. Carol Says:

    I received a similar email. I can´t report it to facebook since I’m not a member (don’t want to be!). The only way you can get in touch with facebook is by becoming a member – sneaky.


Leave a Reply

