Flameless Candle Kindles Romance for Couple with Kids?

December 3, 2007

My partner and I love candles. Almost every room in our house has at least one candle, and we used to love lighting them up. We used to dim the lights and watch the flames flickering, and we especially enjoyed the different scents.

No more dangerous candlesYes, I said “we used to.” What happened? We had children. We now have young kids running around the house. And of course, with young kids running around, open flames were now dangerous. (Well, yeah, fire’s always dangerous, but you know what I mean.) We had to sharply curtail the use of candles. Either that, or we had one candle burning up high, like on top of the refrigerator or a similar safe high place. But another hazard of having kids is that I become easily forgetful — and I’m terrified that I’d forget and leave the house with a candle burning!

Glade Wisp Flameless Candle logoA couple weeks ago, my partner found the nearly-perfect solution. Flameless candles, made by Glade under the Wisp brand name. These candles flicker just like a real candle, and smell just as nice. They’re so safe that my nearly-4-year-old daughter takes one down, turns it on with a quick press on the top, and carries it around while admiring how it flickers — and then she puts it exactly in the middle of the dining table like a centerpiece. (She certainly knows how to decorate, and at such a tender young age!)

Glade Wisp Flameless CandleHow does it work? Using two AA batteries, it releases a puff of scent every once in a while all day and all night. The scent is adjustable, although I’m not sure exactly what is being adjusted — the time interval in between puffs or the intensity of the scent being released. And when you press the top of the candle, it flickers for a set length of time, I think two or three hours unless you turn it off again with another press.

Perfect for leaving around the house, and perfect if you’re a forgetful parent like me!

There are several other types of flameless candles out there as well, including one that’s inside a real wax candle and flameless votive candles that turn on with a tap on the surface.

Hmm, I think I’m gonna buy several score of these candles and put them in the master bedroom. What, honey, you have a headache? Damn.

4 Responses to “Flameless Candle Kindles Romance for Couple with Kids?”

  1. LaRonda Says:

    Great idea! Thanks for sharing.

    ~ LaRonda

  2. Joanne Krupp Says:

    I sell Scentsy wickless candles, and they are wonderful! They come in over 80 scents and don’t need batteries, they plug in. The warmers are gorgeous, and give off pretty pinpoints of light. They only heat up to room temp, so kids are safe from burns. No smoke. No soot on walls. I just love mine. Thought you’d like to know what else is out there :)

    http://www.scentsy.com/momkrupp

  3. proudgeek Says:

    Joanne – oh, definitely sounds good – I’ll definitely check this out. :-)


  4. […] 4, 2008 Last December, I enthusiastically blogged about Wisp Flameless Candles by Glade. At that time I said it was wonderful how we could have something […]


Leave a Reply

