Dicewars: Quick Fun Game

July 4, 2007

DiceWars logoGot a few moments to kill? Is it the end of the day, and you gotta get off the computer yet you want to do one last fun thing before you go?

Spend a few minutes and play Dicewars.

Dicewars is a much simpler version of the board game Risk, where you begin by controlling several territories and have various numbers of armies in each of your territories. You fight your neighbors to expand your territories, and at the end of each round your armies grow by a certain number. At the beginning of the game you’re asked how many electronic players you want to play against, from two to eight. I usually pick five – a nice number of players, a good challenge.

Have fun!

(Click for a larger version)

Dicewars screenshot

5 Responses to “Dicewars: Quick Fun Game”

  1. billcreswell Says:

    I like that a lot – except my 15yr old won every game – she figure out you get ahead by “sandbagging”.

  2. Proud Geek Says:

    What does your daughter mean by sandbagging? I’d be interested in knowing how to win more games!

  3. billcreswell Says:

    Allowing more armies to be built up than you normally would – less aggressive attacking. I haven’t tried it myself – I just had her finish off my game as I was leaving, and she won all the ones she played. She also liked several of the others there, and she has played Risk before.
    (my brother and I and some others used to play Risk a lot when we were in Mali, and of course,no tv)

  4. Proud Geek Says:

    Ahh, got it! Yep, I do that too – build armies up, but I start doing that after a while. Hmmm.

  5. Bill Says:

    I watched her – there is much more to it than that – she is just GOOD at it.

    I am addicted.


Leave a Reply

