Captioning your videos #6: dotSUB.com

June 19, 2007

dotSUB.com logoWhen I first heard of dotSUB.com, a web service dedicated solely to subtitling videos, I was prepared to be skeptical. But to my surprise, I found it easy to use — and I had captioned a 29-second video (of my two daughters, of course!) in record time. Definitely two thumbs up for its speed and ease of use.

While dotSUB.com‘s main function is to subtitle videos, it also has an important additional function: the video can be set to allow others to add subtitles in other languages. The viewer can then select the language s/he wants to see the video in — if English, then only English subtitles would be shown. If Russian, then only the Russian subtitles would be shown, and so on. This is very handy for more professional-quality yet low-budget videos which need assistance into being translated into other languages.

dobSUB into other languages

Compared to all the other video editing software or web services, with the possible exception of Overstream (see my recent review), dobSUB proved the easiest to upload videos and then add subtitles to them. I created my account in seconds, and easily uploaded a video of my two daughters. The hard part was finding where to click to actually add subtitles — I figured out I had to click “Transcribe Film.” I then got a screen with a mini-version of my video along with some simple controls and a list of surprisingly sophisticated keyboard commands. Next to the video were rows upon rows of text boxes in which I can add subtitles and easily set the seconds each subtitle would appear and then disappear.

dotSUB screenshot 2

Within minutes, I had fully subtitled my 29-second-long video. I found it easy and fun to use, and playback was quick and easy. It was easy to set the seconds, and to set it so that there were “pauses” (no subtitles) in between each line. Once I finished, I clicked “Done.” Once I knew I was really finished, I then clicked on “Mark Transcript as Complete.” But by doing so, dotSUB would consider this video final and would not allow any more changes to subtitles in that language. And I only wish I could download this video and then move it over to YouTube — but I couldn’t. Once completed, the subtitles (and the video) stays on dotSUB.

Again, WordPress.com doesn’t allow me to embed videos from companies other than the usual suspects (like YouTube and a few others). So, click on the picture below to view the video of my older daughter pulling my younger daughter around.

dotSUB video of my daughters

See my other reviews of creating subtitles using Windows Movie Maker, Jumpcut, Subtitle Workshop, Overstream, and YouTube.

14 Responses to “Captioning your videos #6: dotSUB.com”

  1. Alison Says:

    You forgot to subtitle about the geek sitting on the sofa, head buried in a phone! :)

  2. proudgeek Says:

    No, no, that geek was filming the two daughters as well with his Treo 650! So, we captured this incident in stereo.

  3. Alison Says:

    Well that makes even more of a geek! You dug yourself into that hole. ;)

  4. Alli Says:

    tsk, tsk. you left out important info: mac compatible?

  5. Proud Geek Says:

    Hi Alli! I’m pretty sure it is, but why don’t you try it out and let us know? :-)

  6. Bill Says:

    Apparently, there is also a program called Magpie (free), for creating captioning that works with Real, Quicktime and Windows Media Player.

    http://ncam.wgbh.org/richmedia/tutorials/captioning.html


  7. […] June 21st, 2007 This one is for you, Alli. […]

  8. Martin Terryn Says:

    Dear Sir,

    This is the first time I find somthing usefull about creating your own subtitles. I am a teacher of deaf youngsters. And although in Belgium all movies are subtitled, I have movies in my collection in French or German without subtitels. I wanted to create them but found out that it is very difficult to find a usefull program to do that. I see you commented on Subtitle Workshop. I intend to read it also. It’s a pity you can’t download the finished product to burn on dvd. But any way, thanks for the information.

    Martin Terryn, Ghent, Flanders, Belgium.(the language we use here is Dutch)


  9. […] would say that, thus far, dotSUB.com remains the easiest way to caption videos on the web, with Overstream in second […]


  10. what is for vido deaf about how action?

  11. Simon Says:

    Hi, i got a wordpress blog too and i would like to know how did you insert a dotvideo in a wordpress post ?
    Thankxs for your reply !
    Simon !


  12. […] Captioning Your Videos #6: DotSub.com […]


  13. […] got involved in that because of some help from Banjo’s world and Deaf Geek, getting started with creating online […]

  14. Richard Says:

    I have used this particular software and must admit that it does work pretty well. At least to me it has :)


Leave a Reply

