Bank of America now offers mobile banking

May 31, 2007

Need to check your bank balance while on the go? Transfer funds from an account to another with one hand while driving the car with another hand? (Not that I recommend that, and it’s illegal in some states …) Pay bills while in the elevator?

Bank of America logoWith Bank of America, now you can. Bank of America now offers mobile banking via your Palm Treo, numerous Blackberries, and over 300 phones and smartphones. I didn’t get the chance to check to see if the Sidekick is included, but I’m pretty certain it would be.

Just point your smartphone / phone’s web browser to www.bofa.mobi and then log in. The first time you log in, you’d have to go through the usual process of getting your phone recognized and then confirming your sitekey. After the first log-in, the log-in process should be smoother. Once you’re logged in, you then have four choices:

  1. Accounts
  2. Bill Pay & e-Bills
  3. Transfer Funds
  4. Locations

The first choice, Accounts, takes you to a list of your accounts and their balances. Clicking on a specific account brings you to a list of transactions for that account. Via Bill Pay & e-Bills, you can actually make a single payment, view outgoing payments, and view unpaid e-bills. The third option allows you to transfer now between your own accounts, or schedule a transfer for later. (Cool!) The fourth option? Gives you the closest banking branch should you feel the urge to see a live person instead, or the nearest ATM if you need to get money from the wall. (It’d sign you out of your account, though, and take you to the general location-finder website.)

If you’re wondering about the “.mobi” portion of http://www.bofa.mobi, that’s the new domain name for webpages designed for mobile phones. Kinda like when you see an address ending in “.edu” — you then know that it’s an educational institute. So, now you can see “.mobi” and think, “Aha, that should work with my cellphone / smartphone.” Nice.

Go forth and bank — just don’t DWB (drive while banking), willya?

8 Responses to “Bank of America now offers mobile banking”

  1. staz Says:

    what about M & T bank?

  2. proudgeek Says:

    Staz – doesn’t look like M&T has Mobile banking. :-( That said, sometimes you can access the bank’s website through your smartphone’s web browser if it recognizes “HTTPS” (secure) browsing. I was able to access my Bank of America full on-line website via my Treo 650’s web browser anyway, but it was s-l-o-w. Mobile banking is so much easier.

  3. Andy Says:

    Much better deal is Presidential Bank. You get 4.5% on checking account balances up to $25,000. If it’s an issue, you get 2.75% on checking balances over $25,000

    They also have a money market account that pays 5.25% on balances up to $35,000 and 3.0% on balances above that.

    This bank really seems aimed at the ordinary person. And they have online banking, free bill paying, yada yada. I don’t do walk around banking, so I don’t know if they do that.

    I’ve banked with them for well over 10 years now and have had no problems (knock wood :=) )

  4. Solros Says:

    I just tried SK2 with http://www.bofa.mobi – SK2 is not compatible with this website :-(

  5. Ryan Says:

    I saw this on their website as well and tried with my SK3 and it says for security reasons, your device cannot access Mobile Banking. I asked someone with Online Banking and they said that it is a provider needing to allow it thing. I don’t believe that. I think they’re just filtering and haven’t opened it up to the Sidekicks yet.


  6. I would like to sign up to get mobile alerts from my mobile cell phone whenever there is activity on my bank account my cell number is 336-928-0480.If I need to come into the Branch to get this started let me no . THANK YOU,RICKY LAWRENCE


  7. I would like to sign up to get mobile alerts from my cell phone.Please let me no what I need to do to get this started,do I need to come into a Branch?


  8. I have already typed a comment 3 times,my cell is 336 -928-0480


Leave a Reply

