Google My Maps: Recent Water Breaks in Suburban Maryland

May 19, 2007

Google Maps has a relatively new feature: making your own personalized maps called Google My Maps. I’ve been wanting to do a simple example of this feature, and now here’s my opportunity.

Over the past week, suburban Maryland has seen at least four water main breaks. One of my employees was affected by the Bradley Blvd water main break. She had to shower at her gym, but even so, she had to scrounge around to get water for simple things like cooking, washing, etc.

Here’s a Washington Post article about three of these breaks, and a WTOP news article about the fourth break.

I created a map showing the locations of these water main breaks. If you know or hear of any more, let me know through the comments and I’ll add them!

(Image below is current as of 12:50pm on Saturday, May 19, 2007. Click on it to see the latest map.)

Water Main Breaks map

Leave a Reply

