Don’t Be ErrorSafe

May 7, 2007

A couple nights ago, my partner was visiting AllRecipes to find a better pancake recipe. He was perusing one of the buttermilk pancake recipes when the Internet Explorer browser he was using suddenly quit on its own. A dialog box then appeared saying that there were errors with the computer and that ErrorSafe would fix those. There were two buttons – “OK” and “Cancel.” I checked again a few moments ago. Apparently, if one goes to AllRecipes, ErrorSafe “hijacks” you via an ad and takes you to its homepage and shows a series of ads that look like system error messages.

(Click on the picture for a larger version)

ErrorSafe window

ErrorSafe appears to be what folks call spyware and/or adware. It looks like a program that’s gonna help your computer. Instead, it’s actually a program that would bring pop-up ads and other sneaky stuff to your computer. And it says your computer is sicker than it actually is, and points you toward a paid version of ErrorSafe to fix these trumped-up errors.

And folks, always do this at home: when you get an error message like this about or from a program you hadn’t heard of before while using an Internet browser, don’t even click on either “OK” nor “Cancel.” Instead, click on the “x” in the upper right corner (or upper left corner if you’re using a Mac). It’s possible that it’s a pop-up “fake” advertisement, and both the “OK” and “Cancel” buttons may download a program onto your system. Instead, “x” it.

You might remember the “You’ve got errors in your registry” ads from last year – these ads look remarkably like your typical error dialog box / message, and clicking on any of the buttons within the ad might download an unwanted program. That’s why it’s a good idea to click on the “x” to close this type of ad.

Anyway, back to ErrorSafe. When I looked it up on Google, there was even a Google-inserted warning under the ErrorSafe link saying that this webpage was unsafe. And there were numerous webpages explaining how to remove ErrorSafe by using another downloadable program. Now, I’m not sure how safe that is, either!

ErrorSafe Google warning

I checked the laptop for ErrorSafe (by going to the Start menu, clicking on “Search,” and searching all system files for “*errorsafe*”). No ErrorSafe program installed on my laptop, thank goodness.

Be safe. Don’t be ErrorSafe.

Advertisements

7 Responses to “Don’t Be ErrorSafe”

  1. Monica Says:

    I’ve had the same thing happen this week every time I’ve visited Allrecipes. I just emailed them a complaint about it. It’s so annoying!

  2. proudgeek Says:

    Emailing Allrecipes is a fantastic idea! I’ll do the same, as well. Others, if you wanna give feedback, here’s the link to AllRecipes’s feedback page:

    http://allrecipes.com/Help/Feedback.aspx


  3. […] 15th, 2007 A week ago, I warned about clicking on ads for ErrorSafe, or downloading and running ErrorSafe. I mentioned that those […]


  4. […] Allrecipes, a very useful website for, obviously, recipes. Someone named Monica left a helpful comment about emailing Allrecipes about ErrorSafe’s advertisements — so I emailed Allrecipes as […]

  5. roland Says:

    Whatever you do, don’t click the ‘x’ button. That’s will further prompt the download-instead, close it by the windows task manager, log off (with all the windows open),or disconnect the internet BEFORE closing the window.

  6. Jerremy Says:

    i wouldn’t be so sure that ErrorSafe is not on your computer. it’s a malware and malwares know how to hide. here’s errorsafe removal in case that computer parasite is still on the system.

  7. Tech (nickname) Says:

    You should also avoid winfixer, winantivirus,winantiviruspro,systemdoctor,and wina-
    ntivirusspyware they are all dangerous and fake antivirus programs.

    When you get that Errorsafe popup,don’t click on the
    Ok(duh),cancel,or the x button because then it will just automatically download itself. What you do is you first disconnect from the internet(no phone line pulling necessary) then click what ever closes down the window (if you get dialog box,just close down it. Nothing will happen (I think).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: